My Life Trip

My thoughts on . . . well, pretty much everything.

I never thought I would pay for this . . . January 30, 2008

Filed under: Family,ME,Staple Boy — jden723 @ 7:40 pm

therapy.jpgPlay therapy.  A whole lot of money per hour for “play therapy”.  Okay, up the up side, staple boy thought it was awesome (his words) and maybe it will help with some of the struggles we have been having – school, home, etc.  On the down side, I am paying a whole lot of money for him to play video games and stuff to talk to someone most likely about how I screwed him up.   Don’t get me wrong, I am a fan of therapy, I’m no Tom Cruise.  LOL!  But geeesh. 

Play therapy . . . lawdhamercy. 

 

6 Responses to “I never thought I would pay for this . . .”

  1. mom365 Says:

    Play therapy, wow!!! so does he just play games while the therapist talks? what role do the video games play in the process? Just curious, never heard of this therapy.

  2. jden723 Says:

    Hi Mom365

    Well basically, the idea is that they play to get him comfortable and sort of “in his element” and while he is doing that, they talk. I am sure the idea is to get him to let his guard down, and in the case of my son who is a bit of a “pleaser” (not that a lot of kids aren’t, I suppose) hopefully it will distract him from picking up on the therapists verbal/non-verbal cues to say what he thinks he should say and just let it all hang out. The therapist is very into setting goals and he basically will have to set one each session. (Ugh, just saying “each session” send a shiver that starts in my checkbook and ends at my butt, LOL!) They have all kinds of stuff other than video games, like a room with ping pong and games like that and non-electronic play. But I guess with video games being so incredibly popular with kids, they keep up with the times by having the current hot things.

  3. Barrister Says:

    You are such a super dooper momster!

  4. J. Fergie Says:

    wow – i’ve never heard of play therapy. and i’m sure it’s a pretty penny the things we do for our kids, huh? good luck with everything!

  5. Missy Says:

    Pay me and I will travel down there and play with him! Good luck!

  6. pserendipity Says:

    Awww, the things we do for the kiddos. Good luck with it!


Leave a Reply

