My Life Trip

My thoughts on . . . well, pretty much everything.

“Jungle Red” gets repainted by Hollywood circa 2008 . . . September 4, 2008

Filed under: ME,Pop Culture — jden723 @ 10:26 pm

and I am not sure I am happy about this.

For those of you who are fans, you already know I am talking about “The Woman.”  This is one of my all time favorite movies.  A classic Hollywood black and white full of big-shouldered broads and no men.  The original movie “The Women” was made in 1939 and starred Norma Shearer, Rosalind Russell, and Joan Crawford as the tramp who stole Mary’s husband.  You could get the scoop on Mary’s business from the manicurist at the salon while she painted your nails “jungle red.”  LOL!   I love everything about it, the clothes, the cast, the dialogue that moves at a pace so rapid, you have no choice but to watch it twice just to understand them.  And of course the catty friends stirring up mess the whole time.

Several years ago a stage version that stuck true to the original, right down to the time period was done starring Cynthia Nixon, Jennifer Tilly and the grand dame of Jennifer’s –  Jennifer Coolidge.  It was awesome. 

But this, I am just not sure.  They modernized it, they changed it to “fit the times.”  I am going to go see it because I just love the original, but I am not happy about it dammit!

 

Leave a Reply

